I’d like you to meet…

Featured Passionista #13

Yasmine Mehtadi

This rockstar has joined our crew and been working behind the scenes to bring you Picture Change. (I hope you’ve saved the date!!) Passionate readers, I’d like you to meet Yasmine…Of course as per usual, we bombarded her with questions.

My name is Yasmine and I am in my third year studying psychology and minoring in business. I chose this combination because I see myself in the field of industrial psychology where I can funnel my passion for organization and understanding people into helping businesses effectively manage the most important asset they have, their employees. I am a transfer student new to UBC this year, but I am loving every inch of this campus and the new discoveries I make here everyday- whether it is new knowledge from classes, a new coffee shop (why do we have 4 Starbucks on 1 camups?!?), or new things about myself. This passion for discovery and broadening my horizons is what made me choose to jump on board with the passion project after being instantly drawn to the idea and the wonderful people involved.

1. What is it that you are passionate about?

Hmmm….well trying to narrow it down to a few things is a difficult task. I guess that is because I would consider myself a passionate person who gets excited about the little things in life, like waking up to snow, playing board games with friends, or delicious food served along side my favourite television show. One thing I know for certain is that I am passionate about preserving memories through candid photographs, journaling, and scrapbooks. Just ask to see my travel journal of my two months travelling Europe and the Middle East this summer…it’s pretty intense!

Which brings me to my second passion, travelling and discovering the beautiful complexities this world has to offer. Other than that, I am still in the process of figuring out what I am truly passionate about…another reason I joined the passion project!

2. Who inspires you to live the biggest life you can live?

I’d have to say my grandmother, she was a beautiful, strong, and vibrant woman. She radiated passion and vitality and would never turn down an opportunity for fun, brightening up a room just by being in it. I am inspired by her for these reasons as well as her ambition and business savvy, being one of the only business women in Kuwait during her time.

3. One book that has changed your life?

Harry Potter. Without a doubt. I grew up with the saga, reading the first book when I was 13 and finishing the last at 18 (consequently the same age as Harry), and loved every page the first, second, and third time that I read it!

4. If you could go anywhere right now, where would go?

I would go back to Nice in the south of France. Just put me anywhere near the turquoise Mediterranean ocean with fresh fruits and croissants from the daily markets and I would be in heaven. To top it off, I would sign up for language lessons and sharpen up my high school French.

5. If you had 1 million dollars to give away, who would you give it to?

I would reserve a portion of it to give to my immediate family, and then would use the rest to help struggling families in Sub-Saharan Africa start small businesses. I would hire a team of dedicated volunteers to go in and implement small changes that could be sustained by the people and have long lasting effects after the 1 million was spent- maybe even get William Easterly to design the plan!

6. What can you not live without?
My agenda book. Not because I am insanely important and busy (well yes on the busy aspect), but because I LOVE making “to-do” lists. Nothing is better than being able to check off an item and feel the sense of accomplishment wash over you.

7. Three things off your bucket list:

1. Learn how to speak Arabic. I can understand fluently, so it shouldn’t be too hard to learn how to speak back…I hope.

2. Own a boat- first bit of money I make I plan to buy a little speed boat big enough for my friends and I to enjoy the beautiful BC summers…with a surround sound system of course.

3. Take a cruise of the Mediterranean or spend a month in Tuscany with my mom and my aunt.

8. Favourite Quote?

“Live, Love, Laugh, Learn”. It is more of saying than a quote, but it is something I strive to do…be present and live every moment to the fullest, surround yourself with people you love and who love you and find laughter together, or alone in the smallest things. But most importantly, take all these experiences and learn from them and grow.

_____________________________________________________________________________

So there you have it. Thank you Yasmine for your amazing work thus far. We are delighted you joined the Passion Project.

Live, laugh, love, learn

xoxo,

E

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I’d like you to meet…

  1. Pingback: Who’s on our team? Pt.1 – Yas and Alex. | The Passion Project

Leave a Reply

