“It’s What I Do”

In light of our most recent passion project, Picture Change, I’ve been getting especially excited and inspired whenever I stumble across a passionate photographer’s work. Recently, Anderson Cooper interviewed four journalists who had escaped captivity in Libya. Among them was Lynsey Addario, a photojournalist for the New York Times. Her work is incredible, spanning everything the Miss India Beauty Pageant to maternal mortality in Sierra Leone.

In an article on this recent experience, Addario writes,

Some comments said:…“How could The New York Times let a woman go to the war zone?” To me, that’s grossly offensive. This is my life, and I make my own decisions. If a woman wants to be a war photographer, she should. It’s important. Women offer a different perspective….I will cover another war. I’m sure I will. It’s what I do.

That is probably one of the simplest definitions of passion I have found. “It’s what I do.”

In stark contrast, some of our passionistas from Picture Change are making a splash in our city. Our passionistas have collaborated and gone on some great photo-walks. Check them out.

“People think photography is about photographing. To me, it’s about relationships. And it’s about doing your homework and making people comfortable enough where they open their lives to you. “- Addario

What is it that you would do again and again even amidst a war?

Stay passionate,

E

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

