A little love from Lanka

On May 9th at approximately 2:15 am, I found myself back in what is popularly known as the ‘pearl of the Indian Ocean’ – Sri Lanka. I love late night and really early morning flights – they make me feel as though I can gently slip in and out of different worlds and simply walk along as though nothing has ever changed…

…until of course, I pause for a moment and realize that my heart is asking me a million and one questions while my mind is in overdrive with all the things I want to see, do, and experience. Despite having immigrated to Canada about 12 years ago, I still feel a strong sense of ‘home’ here in Sri Lanka. Now, if I tried to really define for myself what ‘home’ is and determine where I belong, I would probably find myself in a fit of anxiety because I simply don’t have it all figured out.  All I know is that I appreciate the wide and varied experiences my hyphenated identity has allowed, and I’m grateful for the opportunities that both Canada and Sri Lanka – two worlds apart – have provided. And maybe that’s enough.

So for now, I’ve decided to just focus on being grateful for the good things that have come my way:

  1. Reuniting with the fam-jam. Grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins. There’s some big love around here. And might I add that this is closely linked with lots of glorious food? My jeans are in slight agony but we know how it goes, “eat, pray, love”.
  2. Interning with Centre for Poverty Analysis. I’ve got me some solid reading and writing ahead of me but I’m so excited to be here and so inspired by the people and their commitment to generating knowledge and pushing policy to meet the challenges that face Sri Lanka today. 
  3. Sun. It’s not like I really need a tan but we can all do with some Vitamin D

    Unawatuna (Southern Coast of Sri Lanka)

More updates to come, but for now, I hope you

  • Book your next flight to Lanka land and then give me a ring;
  • Embrace the opportunities while trying to live out your very own questions. I’ll leave you with one of my faves:

Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves. Do not now seek the answers, which cannot be given you because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions – Rainer Maria Rilke

xox,

T

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A little love from Lanka

  1. Sarah

    Have a wonderful trip Tarini! Wherever you decide to call home, you’ll make big things happen. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

