A Night at the Oscars

Some would say this year’s showing at the Oscars was not all that impressive.  Others beg to disagree.  I can’t say I frequently tune into this annual celebration but once in a while, it does take my attention.  This year was one of those years.  And so, I sat alongside Papa Fernando and joined millions at the Oscars.

A few things:

  1. Can we just talk about how amazing Esperanza Spalding is? I know she wasn’t the MAIN attraction but dang, she just gets me every time.
  2. I clearly need to see the Artist.  They sure cleaned up well
  3. Christopher Plummer.  Now here’s a story.

It was not until a few days ago that 82 year old Plummer (whom we KNOW has skills) received the honour of an Oscar, despite having poured years of his life into his acting career.  Upon accepting his award, he turns to the 84-year-old Oscar statuette and claims: “You’re only two years older than me, darling.  Where have you been all my life?”

I definitely chuckled.  And then I thought to myself…wow, that really is some conviction, some passion, some drive.  You truly have to be doing what you love to consistently show up and give the world the best of who you are when you know very well that the accolades of ‘success’ may be well beyond your reach.  Now, quite frankly, I don’t know all that much about this man’s life except that he made an appearance in my childhood with the Sound of Music and then at sufficient intervals subsequently.  But his appearance at the Oscars compelled my reflection upon the importance of perseverance and the value of good motives.  What is it that drives us to do what we do? Is it the age old pursuit of fame and fortune?  Or is it the indomitable force of a personal conviction rooted in passion that you NEED to be doing what you do because the world needs YOU?

Ultimately, we are all called to wake up, dress up, and show up to whatever the day calls us to do.  In fact, we ought to be giving Oscar worthy performances every day of our lives.  And for this to happen, I’m convinced we need to be doing what we do for all the right reasons.  Let’s make sure we take command of the script and write it with integrity.

It’s show time ladies and gents.

xox,

T

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

